Личный кабинет
454001, г. Челябинск, ул.Братьев Кашириных, 129
Личный кабинет
Главная > Текущая страница

архивная_2 корпус.jpg​​​



Chelyabinsk State University holds the status of the first university at the South Urals. A decree on its establishment was adopted by the Council of Ministers of the Soviet Union in 1974, and two years later, in October 1976, the university was officially opened.  The first CSU Rector was Semyon Matushkin, Corresponding Member of the USSR Academy of Pedagogical Sciences.

архивная_студенты и микроскоп.jpgAt the very beginning there were only two faculties: the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics and the Faculty of History and Philology. Within the first three years CSU was equipped with the best inventory and computing machinery of that time. Gradually the university gained its reputation as a major scientific and educational center: the number of faculties was growing, new departments appeared and four postgraduate programmes were launched.

In 1987 there was a change in administration – Professor Valentin Batuchtin, Recipient of the USSR State Prize, Doctor of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, was appointed as a new Rector. In the following years CSU underwent major transformations: its structure expanded to 19 faculties, 6 institutions and 91 departments, three branches were opened in the cities of Miass, Troitsk and Kostanay (Kazakhstan).

In 1991 Chelyabinsk State University started publishing a scientific journal “CSU Bulletin”, which was included in the list of Higher Attestation Commission (HAC) of the Russian Federation.

Three years later, in 1994, CSU became a member of the international TEMPUS programme, and since 2001 CSU students have been able to get European Diploma Supplement.

In 2004 Professor Andrei Shatin, Doctor of Economic Sciences, was appointed to Rector’s position. This period is marked by significant development of IT-technologies at CSU. Thus, the Institute of Information Technologies opened a laboratory for project education (Ilab), which at that time was the first of its kind in Chelyabinsk region. The laboratory has all the necessary equipment to conduct research in robotics and create various smartphone applications.

On the initiative of Professor Vasily Buchelnikov, Doctor of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, in 2005 CSU together with Kotelnikov Institute of Radio Engineering and Electronics of RAS set up a laboratory “Physics of Magnetic Phenomena”. Vasily Buchelnikov’s scientific school has won numerous grants, including grants of the Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation, Russian Scientific Fund, President of the Russian Federation, George Soros Open Society Foundations, the Governor of the Chelyabinsk region, “Universities of Russia” programme, U.S. Civilian Research & Development Foundation, etc.

In 2013 CSU physicists attained international fame: they were the first to inspect the meteorite that had fallen in Chelyabinsk region, and their data and computations laid the foundation for its further examination. For their contribution in Astronomy NASA Goddard Space Flight Center gave Nikolai Gorkavyi and Alexander Dudorov a Robert Goddard Award. Later on, upon the decision of the International Astronomical Union, one of the asteroids was called “Dudorov”.

A year later, in 2014, Chelyabinsk State University became the only South-Ural university to hold a 90 million rubles megagrant in mathematics.

In the same year Diana Tsiring, the current Rector of Chelyabinsk State University, was appointed to her position.
Today Chelyabinsk State University is a member of the Association of the Classical Universities of Russia, Eurasian University Association, and International Association of Universities, as well as a federal forum for inclusive education in higher education system.

The university conducts research and implements joint projects in cooperation with leading scientific centers, funds and organizations of Russia and other countries.​​